So, it's fondue night tonight for my birthday. If I choose to do fondue a couple time more, it might start turning into a habit, but it did sound good, and it's been a couple of years, at least. I guess it came down to cook, or throw out the pot. And of course there are a million things to do today, like go shopping at three different store for tonight's supplies (because we spent the day swimming instead of shopping yesterday) and clean the house, shower, get the kids bathed, bake a cake and slice fruit. But I've got a whole 6 hours to get ready, so plenty of time, right. Most likely, not, but I'm sure all our friends are used to it by now. If not, they probably would have stopped being our friends a long time ago.
I was trying to get the gluten-free cake in the oven early (which by the couple of licks I took from the bowl, will probably go mostly uneaten tonight. Note to self, just because a company makes a decent chocolate chip cookie mix, doesn't mean their chocolate cake mix is tolerable), so it could bake while we all take showers. Maddoc was getting hungry and upset. I'm going to have to start strapping him into his blue bouncy chair, because he finally got so angry he bounced himself onto his stomach on the kitchen floor. And he wasn't any happier once he got there either. So, with the cake in the oven and one kid showered, I decided to feed Maddoc and actually write another post. Not because there's anything exciting going on (although Logan is anxiously awaiting the arrival of Mr. Moustachio tonight), but because I thought of doing it and it's actually getting done.
Rowen made it through 10 nights in a row of waking up dry and so she got to wear panties last night to bed. She is so excited and the timing is perfect with kindergarten starting in a couple of weeks. I can't believe my little girl is going off to school. She loves to write us notes. She spells most of the words correctly (she mainly sticks to notes about how much she loves her family). She always writes To Mom and Dad and From Rowen on them. Last night we were watching Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I know it's a little dark, but the kids know the story line from playing the lego video game and we've talked about what happened, so we've been watching the series with them. After Cedric died, Rowen got up off my lap and went over by the computer. A couple of minutes later, she came back with a note.
She just needed a couple of hugs and I reminded her how it's just a movie and it was all pretend. She watched the remainder of the movie with us. After it was over, she jumped off my lap and came back with another note.
She's a funny girl. There's no middle ground with her. And what's funny about the movie is that it's usually Logan who gets sad and cries, while Rowen just watches the movie and wiggles around. But last night it was Rowen.
Well, time to get another kid in the shower and start running errands. The cake is done baking. It looks ok for now, but we'll see how it tastes later. I'm sure myself and a few of the kids will be the only one doing the tasting. Actually, Jenn might taste it. Steve won't even come close to it. That's ok.
Maybe this is why it's so hard to get myself to post. I ramble on and on. I need to learn how to post in five minutes, and to just write something quick and easy. Another day.
Saturday, August 14, 2010
Fondue night tonight
Posted by ~jenn at 10:23 AM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment