Ok, so Maddoc is 10 weeks old, and he's finally making his first appearance on the family blog. Mom really needs to get in gear.
I went in to get induced on Friday morning, February 12th. I felt confident that everything would go quickly and smoothly. I was right, if you don't count the first 12 hours of labor. After that, everything went very quickly. My mom almost didn't get to see Maddoc being born because once things kicked in, they went very fast. It took 11 1/2 hours to dilate from a 1 1/2 to a four, and then only 1 1/2 hours to dilate from a 4 to a 7 and then 20 minutes from a 7 to a 10. The epidural wore off, but I handled it much better than I did when it wore off with Logan. No yelling or getting mad at anybody was involved. I had to work a little to get this one out, about 10 minutes of pushing. Not a lot, but more than the 1/2 a push that I had to do with Rowen. He was born at 10:59 pm on Friday, February 12th. He weighed 8lbs. 9oz. and was 20 1/2 inches long. I think he may have been longer, because at his 2 week checkup he measured 22 3/4 inches, and I double checked him at home and he really was that long. It seems like a lot to have grown in 2 weeks.
He cried for the first 45 minutes after he was born, then nursed for nearly an hour, then pretty much did nothing but sleep for the next 36 hours. He didn't lose very much weight, only about 5 oz., so nobody was worried that he wasn't eating. He kept spitting up, his tummy was full of bubbly gunky stuff, so he just wasn't hungry until he got that all out.
We didn't have a first name picked out when he was born, so he was Baby Brown for a day. He definitely seems like a Maddoc to me. The middle name was always going to be Aaron (or Erin if it had been a girl), so by Saturday, he was Maddoc Aaron Brown.
He's a really good sleeper, as long as he's being held. It's good and bad, having a baby that's clingy. He's so snuggly, and I love feeling him close to me. But it is frustrating when there are other things to do and he wakes up 2 minutes after I put him down, when I know he's ready for a good long nap. But he really is good, he hardly is fussy or cries. And he's very alert and loves to watch people walking all around. He loves to smile and is learning to giggle. Rowen and Logan love him very much. I couldn't ask for them to be any better with him than they are. And they are both such good helpers. They'll do anything for me if it has to do with Maddoc. And they don't complain at all. Our family is complete and it feels wonderful. The human heart is amazing. It just keeps growing and growing. I love my family so much.
Monday, April 26, 2010
Baby Maddoc
Posted by ~jenn at 10:40 AM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comments:
Hi Jenn! Very excited to see these pictures and update. Deanna and I got together last week and scrolled through the Facebook pics of Maddoc, but there weren't too many! Dee will be thrilled to see these when we get together next time (she doesn't have internet).
Good luck with getting him to sleep sans mommy!
Lindsay
Post a Comment